The instructions on this page are valid for references to entries in encyclopedias and dictionaries. Some encyclopedias/dictionaries will not have authors listed for the individual entries, in which case the title of the entry takes the place of the author in the reference. For entries in online encyclopedia or dictionary, include the month and day in the publication date (if available) and conclude the reference with information on the retrieval date in addition to the URL.
If a DOI has been assigned to the encyclopedia/dictionary, include this number in the reference. If no DOI has been assigned and the encyclopedia/dictionary was accessed online from a nondatabase website, use the URL of the webpage from which it was retrieved. If the encyclopedia/dictionary was accessed in print or retrieved from an academic database, no URL is included.
| Template |
|---|
| Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (YYYY). Title of entry. In C. C. Editor & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia/dictionary (#th ed., Vol. #, pp. page number-page number). Publisher. DOI or URL |
| In-text references | |
|---|---|
|
(Dahlgren et al., 2008) ("Karyotype," 2015) (Rogers et al., 2019) |
Dahlgren et al. (2008) summarized... According to the entry "Karyotype" (2015)... Rogers et al. (2019) defines... |
| Reference list |
|---|
|
Dahlgren, R.A., Macías, F., Arbestain, M.C., & Chesworth, W. (2008). Acid soils. In W. Chesworth (Ed.), Encyclopedia of soil science. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-3995-9_7 Karyotype. (2015). In M. Allaby (Ed.), A dictionary of ecology (5th ed.). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780191793158.001.0001 Rogers, K., Green, E. R., & Joshi, S. H. (2019, November 25). Biology. In Encyclopædia britannica. Retrieved December 12, 2019, from https://www.britannica.com/science/biology |