Through EBSCOhost Web, you can access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
The default search screen for EBSCO eBooks is basic search. The eBook Collection landing page displayed below is available by clicking the eBooks link in the top toolbar.
There are several ways to search for EBSCO eBooks:
Perform a keyword search of the eBooks database using the Find field.
Search eBooks by Lexile using the Lexile field code in the Find field. For example, search LX 410 to search for eBooks matching that Lexile. To learn more about Lexiles, see: Lexile Reading Levels.
Browse by Category by selecting a category from the column on the left.
View the Latest Added eBooks using the left and right arrows or click View All to view a result list of all latest added eBooks.
View Featured eBooks using the left and right arrows or click View All to view a result list of all Featured eBooks.
To search for eBooks:
Enter your search terms in the Find field and click the Search button
A Result List of eBooks related to your search terms is displayed.
Click an eBook Full Text (PDF or EPUB) link to read the book in the eBook Viewer tool.
Click the Full Download icon to check out the book and read it on your computer using Adobe Digital Editions. (See Downloading an eBook below)
Note: Libraries that have eBook download capabilities enabled, will see a Download icon.
Click the Table of Contents link to view the chapters of an eBook. You can go directly to a chapter in the eBook Viewer tool by clicking on a hyperlinked chapter.
Note: Sections in the Table of Contents with a plus sign ( +) can be expanded further by clicking the plus sign.
A Detailed Record can be viewed by clicking an eBook title in the Result list. From the Detailed Record, you can read or download the eBook using the links in the left column. From the right column, you can print, email, save, or export the record, as well as add the details about the eBook to your folder.
If available, the Detailed Record displays the number of copies available via Concurrent Access.
At the bottom of the Detailed Record, you can view Most Relevant Pages from this eBook and the Table of Contents. Both sections can be collapsed or expanded by clicking the plus (+) or minus (-) in the upper left corner of the section.
Most Relevant Pages from this eBook: Displays the most relevant sections of the eBook in which your search terms appear in the text.
Table of Contents: Displays the Table of Contents for the eBook you are viewing. Clicking on a hyperlinked chapter opens the chapter in the eBook Viewer tool.
eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link on the Result List or Detailed Record.
In the top toolbar of the eBook Viewer, you can click the Back to Results, New Search, or Exit links to check in the eBook after you have finished viewing it.
Included in the column on the left, are tools that allow you to view the contents of an eBook, search within the text of the eBook and save a note on the eBook in your MyEBSCO folder.
Contents - Click to view the Table of Contents for the eBook title you are reading.
Publisher Permissions - The Publisher Permissions indicator displays the number of pages that can be printed or saved, whether copy/paste functionality is allowed, and whether the eBook can be downloaded to read offline. When printing/saving is allowed, the number of available pages is updated as you print or save eBook pages to your computer.
eBook Availability - The eBook Availability indicator displays the number of copies currently available from your institution.
Chapter Download - Click the Full Download icon [
] to download a chapter of the eBook title you are viewing.
Search Within - Click to search for terms within the eBook. See: Searching within eBooks
My Notes - Click to view your notes or to create a new note about the eBook or a page of the eBook and save it to your personal folder. See: Creating a Note on eBooks.
Included in the row of tools across the top of the Viewer, are tools that allow you to look up words in a dictionary and share eBook information.
Add to Folder - Click to add the eBook to your MyEBSCO folder.
Save Pages - Click to save eBook pages. See Saving eBook Pages for Printing or Emailing.
E-mail Pages - Click to email eBook pages. See Saving eBook Pages for Printing or Emailing.
Cite - Click to copy citation information for the eBook.
Dictionary - Click to search for definitions of words in the eBook you are reading.
Export - Click to export citation information to a bibliographic manager.
Permalink - Click to copy a persistent link to the eBook.
Share - Click to share the eBook information on one of several social networks.
Full Download - Click to download the eBook to your computer for offline reading or transferring to a portable device. See Downloading an eBook.
When viewing eBooks in PDF format, the following options are available on the toolbar at the bottom of the viewer.
Page Navigation: Use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click Go.
Zoom Out: Click the icon to zoom out on the page.
Zoom In: Click the icon to zoom in on the page.
Fit Page Width: Click the icon to fit the page by width in the viewing area.
Fit Page: Click the icon to view the entire page in the viewing area.
Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.
EPUB Format
EPUB is an open eBook standard and file format that allows you to increase the size of the font, enabling you to optimize the viewing experience on desktop computers, smart phones, and tablets.
EPUB format eBooks use vertical scrolling to display the text of each chapter. Use the navigation arrows to change the chapter you are reading.
In cases when you are viewing an eBook in ePub format, the toolbar appears as shown.
Chapter Navigation: Use the navigation arrows to change the chapter or section of an eBook title you are reading. Contents of the chapter or section can be read using vertical scrolling.
Zoom Out: Click the icon to display the text in a smaller font size.
Zoom In: Click the icon to display text in a larger font size.
Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.
Notes:
EPUB format is not compatible with Internet Explorer browsers 7 & 8. When trying to open an EPUB format eBook in IE 7 or 8, you are prompted to upgrade your browser to IE 9. For more info about EPUB, click here.
While the text-to-speech feature is not available in the eBook Viewer, you are able to save parts of an eBook in PDF format and use the Adobe Reader Read Aloud functionality to hear the eBook section read out loud.
If your administrator has enabled eBook downloads for your institution, you will see a Download icon (download icon) that allows you to check-out and download the eBook and read it on your computer when you are not connected to the Internet, or transfer it to your Adobe Digital Editions-compatible eBook Reader device.
Note: In order to download eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. We recommend ensuring you have the most recent version of Digital Editions installed. This is a free download available at http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html.