|
Institutional subscriptions to Web of Science vary, both in terms of databases and depth of data. Your institution may have a subset of the content listed below. Contact us if you need help doing a coverage analysis or comparison. |
|
|
Web of Science Core Collection |
Web of Science platform |
|
Summary |
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities. The Web of Science Core Collection serves as the standard data set underpinning the journal impact metrics found in the Journal Citation Reports and the institutional performance metrics found in InCites. |
A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets. The Web of Science provides a common search language, navigation environment, and data structure allowing researchers to search broadly across disparate resources and use the citation connections inherent to the index to navigate to relevant research results and measure impact. |
|
Number of journals |
> 21,177 journals + books and conference proceedings |
> 34,385 journals + books, proceedings, patents, and data sets |
|
Journal acceptance rate |
10-12% for the three core indices - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - rates for the Emerging Sources Citation Index are generally higher. Each journal is rigorously evaluated prior to selection. Once selected, all content is indexed cover to cover. |
Varies by database |
|
Coverage |
|
|
|
Content |
Life sciences, biomedical sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities. Strongest coverage of natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences. Access to regional citation indexes for Korea, Latin America, and Russia is typically provided at the platform level with a standard Web of Science Core Collection subscription. |
Biomedical sciences, natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities. Strongest coverage of natural sciences & engineering, computer science, materials sciences, patents, data sets. Regional Citation indexes provide deep coverage in sciences, social sciences, and humanities for Korea, Russia, Latin America, and China. |
|
Databases covered |
Citation Indexes:
|
Citation Indexes:
Subject specialized and regional indexes:
Other resources:
|
|
Time period covered |
Sciences: 1900-present Social Sciences: 1900-present Arts & Humanities: 1975-present Proceedings: 1990-present Books: 2005-present Emerging Source Citation Index: 2005-present
Full cited reference indexing for all content |
Journal literature: 1800-present Patents: 1963-present Full cited reference indexing for all Web of Science Core Collection content Citation indexing for ScIELO, Russian Science Citation Index, Chinese Science Citation Index, and BIOSIS Citation Index All content includes Times Cited information for citations from Web of Science Core Collection and the Web of Science platform Citation Sources |
|
Cited references |
|
|
|
Author indexing |
All authors from all publications are indexed. Authors linked to address from 2008-forward. |
WoS Core Collection: All authors form all publications are indexed. Other resources: Author indexing varies by resource. |
|
Institution indexing |
All author affiliations are indexed. Institution’s variants and parent/child relationships are mapped and connected to a preferred institutional name through a manually-curated process. |
Author affiliation indexing varies by collection. |
|
Updating frequency |
Daily (Monday through Friday) |
Each collection is updated on its own schedule ranging from daily to monthly. |
|
Publisher |
Clarivate Analytics |
Clarivate Analytics: Web of Science Core Collection, Zoological Records, BIOSIS, Data Citation Index, Derwent Citation Index IEE: Inspec FSTA: FSTA CABI: CAB Abstracts NLM: Medline Chinese Academy of Science: CSCD SciELO: SciELO Korean Academy of Sciences: KJD Russian Academy of Sciences: RSCI |
|
Citation analysis |
Yes, including citation tracking, citation counts, and author h-index calculations “Hot” and “Highly Cited” articles (top performing by citation comparison) are available from Essential Science Indicators integration Journal Impact Factors and Journal Performance Quartiles are available via Journal Citation Reports Integration (JCR Quartiles available without subscription to JCR) |
Yes, including citation tracking, citation counts, and author h-index calculations “Hot” and “Highly Cited” articles (top performing by citation comparison) are available from Essential Science Indicators integration |
|
Controlled vocabulary |
No. Keyword fields include Author Keywords, and “Keywords+” which are extracted from the titles of Cited Articles Controlled indexing is provided for institution affiliations (parent child mapping) |
Controlled vocabulary searching is provided for Medline, Inspec, FSTA, BIOSIS, Zoological Record. |
|
Export feature for references |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Alerts feature |
Yes |
Yes (While search and citation alerting is available for each dataset, search alerting is not available for “ALL Database Search”) |
|
Relative strengths |
|
|